Just Write!

There’s only one person who needs a glass of water oftener than a small child tucked in for the night, and that’s a writer sitting down to write.  ~Mignon McLaughlin
 
I procrastinate 3 ways to Sunday when it comes to actually writing.  Well, no more excuses.  No more waiting until I can get everything organized – both my brain and my jots, notes, ideas, efforts.  I’m going to implement my beliefs:
  • If you want to write better, you have to write more.
  • Practice makes perfect.
  • Writing encourages reflection, and reflection is good for the soul.

I’m going to, simply, write.  It’s important that I write something every day.  That I carve out a niche of time and write.  That I’m disciplined enough to put the pencil to the paper.

Or as I recently heard a writer so eloquently express it,  “You have to put your ass in the chair!”

One response to “Just Write!

  1. Candi, thanks for inviting me to read your blog. As I read your comments on life and writing I was struck by many thoughts. For one thing the comments about your children growing up and the empty house resonated with me. I’m not looking forward to that day when the house is quiet. Another thing that struck me was the honesty of your writing. Perhaps that comes from the fact that you are writing simply because you want to, not to get published. The final thing that struck me was the fact that while we were around each other for years, I never really knew you. Life does come full circle, the boy that use to ride the same school bus as you in elementary school is commenting on your blog after all these years. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

